My grandmother wrote for girls' comics in the 1950s-60s. Trying to find her work!

Talk here about just about anything associated with British comics or story papers and the industry that does not fit in any other forum.
There are separate fora open to registered members for discussing specific comics, artists, websites etc.

Moderators: Al, AndyB

samuelvictor

My grandmother wrote for girls' comics in the 1950s-60s. Trying to find her work!

Post by samuelvictor »

Hi all

I recently found out that my wonderful, much loved and sadly missed grandmother wrote many stories for a British girls' comic weekly, likely in the mid 1950s to early 1960s.

Sadly, she passed away years ago, and I'm only just discovering this information now. Of course I would very much like to find the stories and read them! I'm a writer of both film/tv drama and comic books myself so finding this information out now has really made me curious to find more about her writing.

My father and aunt (her children) are vaguely aware that she did this when they were very young, but details are skant. Annoyingly, she did not seem to be at all sentimental or boastful about the stories, and kept no record or copies of the comics. We don't even know which comic they were for, or whether she used a pen name.

All we know is that they were a series of stories set in a girls' boarding school, with a somewhat upper middleclass "jolly hockey sticks!" kind of style. She wrote them for a fairly significant amount of time, but stopped when the editors/owners made a shift in tone for the comic and asked her to make the stories more romantic, which she wasn't interested in writing.

We believe they were fully text stories, rather than scripts for the illustrated comic strips, of course many British comics of that time period printed both comic stories and written stories in each issue.