Commando name going into new interesting avenues..i.e Viking

Pocket-sized war 'comic' that has been around since 1961 and is still going strong.

Moderator: AndyB

Peter Gray

Post by Peter Gray »

I'm new to Commando But really enjoyed it...
Was on the edge of my seat reading the German point of view..Shadow of evil set in the 50's..even my wife whose never read one is enjoying the thriller now...she said it is good.. :)

Great to read a Viking story under the Commando name..
I wonder if it can be adapated for other stories...i.e

Commando legends...like Robin Hood..
Fantasy stories King Alfred and the roundtable..Dragon stories and knights...could Commando be used for a

Football story..maybe at an army barracks football league team?

Romance stories in the Army...Navy...Civies...

just ideas..

Captain Storm

Post by Captain Storm »

I innocently propositioned Cpl Clott a while back with a story plot centering on an Aging General being sent back in time to the trenches to get a taste of what it was really like and got slated for it!But what do I know...only what I like :)

felneymike
Fence Sitter

Post by felneymike »

I think Shadow of Evil (which coincidentally has a near-identical plot to my own Eugene Manx) was actually a reprint from the early 90's, they usually put an "originally published" label in tiny writing on the first page.

I did also like the Axemen one, though they have been doing "wierd" ones for years (in 97-98 there was one called "Spaceman in a spitfire" with some very 50's sci-fi looking backdrops, didnt buy it though), there was also another recent reprint where people at various places in WW2 get abducted by aliens just before they are supposed to die. Also the recent two comedy ones (the tank one was brilliant!) seemed to be a bit of a departure, though i understand they have done the odd comedy one before never two so close together.