KIDS FROM STALAG 41

Buster, Whizzer and Chips, Whoopee, Wham, Smash, you name it!

Moderator: AndyB

Cap Haggis

KIDS FROM STALAG 41

Post by Cap Haggis »

I note that you are showing pages from the Jet comic strip "The Kids from Stalag 41" - good to see a humour strip again - But I wasn't aware that this was by Leo Baxendale did he actually write and draw this (or just write it) It looks to me a bit like the artwork of another artists (not that I am an expert just a big fan) - can anyone clarify?
Cap Haggis to the rescue of all deep fried foods

Lew Stringer

Re: KIDS FROM STALAG 41

Post by Lew Stringer »

Cap Haggis wrote:It looks to me a bit like the artwork of another artists (not that I am an expert just a big fan) - can anyone clarify?

You're correct. It's definitely not by Leo Baxendale. The early ones are drawn by either Jimmy Hansen or Mike Lacey (not sure which as Mike and Jimmy's styles were very similar back then) and the later ones by someone else entirely.

Editors encouraged many artists to draw in Leo's popular style; Dave Sutherland, Ron Spence, Mike Brown, Mike Lacey.... the list goes on. All became good comic artists in their own right, but people have often confused their styles with the great Bax.

Lew
Last edited by Lew Stringer on 18 Sep 2006, 15:32, edited 2 times in total.
The blog of British comics: http://lewstringer.blogspot.com
My website: http://www.lewstringer.com
Blog about my own work: http://lewstringercomics.blogspot.com/

Cap Haggis

KIDS FROM STALAG 41

Post by Cap Haggis »

Cheers Lew - I didn't think it looked like Leo Baxendales work but wasn't 100%
Cap Haggis to the rescue of all deep fried foods

AndyB
Throgmorton

KIDS FROM STALAG 41

Post by AndyB »

It's Mike, I believe!

Lew Stringer

Post by Lew Stringer »

AndyB wrote:It's Mike, I believe!
Looks like Mike Lacey work on the first episode. Rest of the strips are by Tony Goffe.

Lew

Tammyfan

Post by Tammyfan »