Champ Comic 1984-85 'We Are United'

Talk here about just about anything associated with British comics or story papers and the industry that does not fit in any other forum.
There are separate fora open to registered members for discussing specific comics, artists, websites etc.

Moderators: Al, AndyB

WSWS5492

Champ Comic 1984-85 'We Are United'

Post by WSWS5492 »

Hi,

I'm a writer-broadcaster, started out in comics in the early 90s just as the mainstream comics industry I'd grown up with was falling away. I'm currently working on a new project involving football from a certain period and am looking to see if anyone here that read boys’ comics in the 1980s, more specifically DC Thomson’s short-lived Champ, which ran from 1984-85 and featured the seminal football strip We Are United, might be able to help as I'm looking to interview the people behind that strip.

If the great Barrie Tomlinson’s work with Tiger and Roy of the Rovers showed him to be The Sopranos of UK football comic strips, then We Are United was The Wire. A more acquired taste perhaps, very different to anything that had come before it. I am keen to speak to those involved with the strip but am not having much joy. I know the artist Peter Fox has returned to Australia these days, does no press and doesn’t even have a PC. If it wasn’t for the fact I’m keen to talk to him, I’d admire his aversion to engage.