artist for Jack O Justice / Highway Days in Valiant / Sun

Discuss comic art, the artists and writers both current and from the past.

Moderators: Al, AndyB

tolworthy

artist for Jack O Justice / Highway Days in Valiant / Sun

Post by tolworthy »

I'm reading old Jack O Justice strips from Valiant, and loving every page. Does anyone know the artist? The small villain faces look to me like the work of Dudley Watkins, but I am no expert. This example is from 8th December 1962.
Also, did the original (from the old Sun comic - does anyone know the rough date?) have speech bubbles? Some of them look very squashed, as if they were not in the original: I know a lot of early stories didn't have them. Thanks for any help!

tolworthy

Re: artist for Jack O Justice / Highway Days in Valiant / Su

Post by tolworthy »

Also, sorry for going on, but it intrigues me: obviously the images have been widened in places. yet the descriptive text, which fills the extra width, looks very old fashioned, so I assume that has not been changed. i read that the original Sun comic was large format: was the text originally in much smaller print?

philcom55

Post by philcom55 »

Hi Tolworthy. I think the Jack O'Justice page you posted is a reprint of Dick Turpin and the House of Secrets, drawn by Geoff Campion. This story originally ran in Sun from 8th Feb 1958 to 17th May 1958. To begin with the main Highway Days/Dick Turpin artist was Hugh McNeill, drawing in a very different style from the humorous approach he later became famous for on Harold Hare; subsequent stories were drawn by a variety of people including HM Brock, Eric Parker, Edgar Spenceley, Eric Bradbury and Jesus Blasco. As far as I'm aware the Jack O'Justice strip began to feature newly commissioned stories in Valiant from late 1963 with all-new artwork by Jack Pamby, Mike Western and Tom Kerr (who also went on to draw the modern-day adventures of Jack's Great-great-great-grandson Jack Justice).